2

Why do so many apps log users out after upgrading to a new phone ? (ex: Gmail, Slack, Instagram).

From a technical POV it's easy to keep the user logged in after a phone upgrade.

Is there any upside to logging the user out?

2
  • from a technical POV isn't easier, it's almost impossible
    – Devin
    Oct 25, 2022 at 22:00
  • Credentials saved in the keychain persist when migrating from one phone to the next if you transfer data over or do an iCloud backup restore. You can opt out of that behavior by setting the Device Only keychain accessibility attributes. Firebase definitely does this with stored API refresh / access tokens
    – tsp
    Oct 25, 2022 at 23:47

1 Answer 1

3

How do I know it was the real user that upgraded the phone and not some one who shouldn't? That is the security and safety risk that exists in auto migration for accounts between devices. Hence, when a new device attempts to log into a service, the user must resupply their log in to use the service again. Read "Design For Safety", it will discuss these types of concerns that designers must grapple with.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.