Like many, I am required to change my password periodically. When it is about to expire, I am notified on the logon screen (I connect via VPN), but this notification begins two weeks (14 days) before my password will expire. Additionally, this notification consists of: "Your password will expire in nnn days. Click here to continue".
I find this somewhat intrusive, especially the "click here to continue". Is there a reason for this that I am not considering? Why is notification required at all other than after my password has actually expired?