Like many, I am required to change my password periodically. When it is about to expire, I am notified on the logon screen (I connect via VPN), but this notification begins two weeks (14 days) before my password will expire.  Additionally, this notification consists of:
"Your password will expire in nnn days. Click here to continue".

I find this somewhat intrusive, especially the "click here to continue".
Is there a reason for this that I am not considering?  Why is notification required at all other than after my password has actually expired?

Update

Based on the responses so far, it seems like a clarification is in order.

   1. This is a system logon, not to a particular application, although the
   more I think about it, the less important that distinction becomes
   2. My passwords expire after 90 days. After expiration, I cannot log on until I create a new password (which also requires entry of the
   "old" expired password).
   3. There is no difference in creating a new password beforehand or after the password has expired.
   4. Between days 74 - 90, I cannot log on until I click the link.
   5. The "link" does not bring me to a page where I can change my password.  It seems to be just a confirmation that I have seen the
   particular message.