We're working on a PC desktop software for financial professionals. Our users tend to be very detail oriented and extremely cautious of errors.
- We have a new feature that allows our customers to import financial data from a 3rd party.
- Upon a successful import, each newly updated file will open in their desktop and it will show the new data.
- At this point our users may assume that the data import is complete and proceed with closing the files.
- But, if they close the file without saving - the data will be lost. There is no "undo" - they would need to repeat the entire import process again.
We want our customers to know that they must save these files in order to keep the new data.
We're going to display "Warning" messages after users click on the close button.
Here are the current options:
- Popping-up a new window after a user selects not to save the file. (A)
- Placing warning labels inside a Save dialog. (B)
Please advise which option you think would be more effective in making sure our customers don't make the wrong choice.