I have groups that contains a list of articles. Previously when deleting a group we first popped up a dialog asking if the user was sure he wanted to delete the group.
Then if the user had made changes to the group before the delete we also popped up another dialog warning the user that he had unsaved changes.
Now we're changing that behaviour. I've argued that if the user has consented to a delete then the fact that there is unsaved changes is not relevant.
However we could easily append "any unsaved changes will be lost" to the delete message. We could even a go a step further and inform the user of exactly what changes would be lost.
I afraid that the extra information might make the user hesistant to use the delete function. Any ideas how I should I proceed? Any alternative ways to do this?