Currently our system is limited in that we only allow documents to be downloaded and not folders. Eventually we will allow the download of folders, but not in the immediate future.
So right now if you have one or more documents selected, the Download button is enabled on the toolbar. If you have one or more folders selected OR folders and documents selected, the Download button is disabled. We are guessing users might not understand why it is disabled in this situation. However, we could use a tooltip to mitigate this.
Should we change the button to be enabled and then display a message letting the user know that the folder(s) will not be downloaded? If so, what is the best way to handle that message…before the download begins or after it’s complete? As an alert instead of a message in a modal dialog? I’m not sure about the wording as well. I don’t want them to think the folder(s) didn’t download just this time, but know that this is the current behavior. I don’t want them to think they need to try it again.