I am designing a tool where users can select two analyses (previously created) and compare them.
The compare functionality will show a list of 3 or 4 dashboards, each dashboard contains for example bar charts to highlight the difference between the data of the two selected analyses. Those comparison dashboards are shown to the user but not actually saved in the system. User can easily generate a new comparison when needed. During the usability tests, users were not sure if the comparison was saved, some of them expected it to be saved, others not.
The comparison dashboards are only for visualization, user cannot change anything. Is there a way to make the user aware that those dashboards are gone once you navigate away? I would like to avoid showing warnings in a dialog when they try to leave. Maybe there is no need to say that? Any UI pattern regarding this topic?