If I have 3 steps and I'm actually in the 2nd one, what should happen when I press on the back button?
Would a user expect to maintain the previous configuration of the 1st step, or should it reset and I have to set it up again?
User Experience Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for user experience researchers and experts. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
A user would assume that this kind of navigation would move backward and forward in the steps.
In the step navigation, a button labelled back should not reset the progress. Especially when the user has done a lot of work filling out the forms, it would be really annoying.
Exiting the form and opening it again could reset the form. But again, if there are lots of filled fields, make sure to ask if it's okay that the progress will be lost.
Back button goes a step back, next button goes a step forward.