1

I noticed that in many different types of products and services that offer a few different subscription plans, upgrading is easy. Downgrading, on the other hand, is a bit discreet. In most of them, you would have to contact support to downgrade or cancel your plan.

While this is a business decision, are there other negative effects if we allow users to easily downgrade to a plan? Or make canceling a plan less hidden?

And this may be uncommon - but what if a user decides to upgrade/downgrade/then upgrade again within a span of, say, an hour. In general, will that cause billing issues?

  • Hi @livbeng I think this is a great question. Could you provide some more details about the type of service you’re selling and it’s general price? – Andrew Weibert Aug 23 at 19:01
  • @AndrewWeibert The price ranges from $3 - $40 per month across all the plans. These are all billed annually; there is no month to month. It's a platform that allows you to build and online store. – Liv Beng Aug 23 at 19:27
0

Unfortunately for the user, I'd say that unless "ease of cancellation" is part of your selling / business proposition, you should stick to the existing models. A possible alternative is to make it relatively easy to see a cancelation button. However, when the user clicks it, they are prompted with an automated offer to continue their service for a discount. If they proceed further, you can offer to "pause" their account for a period of time instead of deleting it. Hulu has historically had an effective model for this. I would avoid forcing the user to make a call, which would frustrate the user and increase your call center costs.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.