I have a question about the UX solution for saving and publishing a new version on the platform.
What is it about?
- I created a new document and it becomes the "latest" version.
- I can edit that latest version.
- There are 2 buttons "save (activated)" and "publish (deactivated)"
Once I save it, I can publish it
I decided to "save" it so it becomes the "draft" version
- I sign out from the platform and later on, I sign in to make more changes on that "draft" version.
- I can again save the changes but I can also publish the latest saved version
- I decided to publish.
- Modal opens with the message "If you publish it, all unsaved changes will be discarded" because I previously did not save my newest changes.
- There is new "save and publish" button in the modal and the "cancel" button
- I pressed "save and published" and it becomes the new "latest" version
One solution is to activate button "save" when something is changed and to activate the "publish" button when it is saved. You can not publish it if it is not saved.
The second solution is to allow to "publish" the latest edited version. It does not need to be saved.
Do I really need two buttons "save" and "publish" when editing? What do you think about automatically saving the edits, and "publish" it once I am happy?
Or maybe there is some better solution?