I have a scenario in which the user goes through the steps of an installer. One of the steps is to setup the options for the program. The actual saving takes fractions of a second, however it may not be clear that clicking 'next' saves the settings.
Is it a bad idea to have a waiting dialog pop up that says "Saving Settings. Please Wait." with a wait signal (spinning circle kind of thing) for a second or two even though the save is done really fast?
Another option is to have a label saying that the settings are saved when clicking 'next', but to me it seems that it is not as "in your face" that the settings are getting saved.
Technically the settings get saved when they click 'back' as well. Should the same dialog be shown when clicking the back even though its less intuitive that a back button saves the settings on the current screen?
A third option I thought of is to have a Yes/No dialog ask if they want to save the settings if they changed, but I'm afraid that might be a little annoying.