Take the 2-minute tour ×
User Experience Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for user experience researchers and experts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm working on a CRM at the moment which allows an operator to search for a customer and verify them, after which the whole system is aimed to work on that customer's account.

I'm working on the UX for 'dropping' the customer from scope. So far on the customer overview there's a trash button and a confirm, what I'm looking for is a question for the verify.

So far I have "Stop viewing this customer?" and "Finished with this customer?" but I don't like them. I know this might be a little more of a copy writing question than UX, but any ideas better than mine?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

Just keep it simple and give them an option as Mark as viewed or Mark as completed.

This allows the user to know that if he marks the customer as viewed, he has an option to filter them out the next time he searches.

This is very commonly used in a number of cases especially email and users can understand it fast

enter image description here

That said,some A/B testing might be helpful to understand what wordings work best

share|improve this answer

Unless by 'dropping the customer' you mean removing them from the system as your customer, I would suggest not using a trash icon to indicate being done with working on that customers account. 'Trashing' an instance of something typically indicates that it will be deleted. Some other options to consider would be:

  • A back arrow with phrasing similar to "Choose Another Customer" or "Back to Customer List"
  • A button that says "Finished with Customer Name"

You could either make the buttons only available on the overview page, or present on all pages with a confirmation dialog.

share|improve this answer

If you open up the user within a bounded visual scope e.g. a box within the webpage (that has a small margin from the title, sides and footer) then you can add a standard "X" and close button to that scope and it should be clear that you are only closing that scope and not the entire app/page.

As the other answer mentioned, don't use a recycle bin to close a scope, users will think it its for deleting the context of the scope (the observed user) from the system.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.