Take the 2-minute tour ×
User Experience Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for user experience researchers and experts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In my application, non-paying users can allocate (n) resources. Paid subscription means unlimited allocation of resources.
When a paying customer downgrades from the paid plan, the limits is applied again so no more resources can be created, but the customer still likely have stored resources above the limit.

So besides disabling all "create new"-actions when limits are reached, what changes in the UI should we make to customers that downgraded to make them miss the paid version?

share|improve this question

closed as not a real question by AndroidHustle, Benny Skogberg MCSA, Bart Gijssens, Ben Brocka Sep 28 '12 at 12:00

It's difficult to tell what is being asked here. This question is ambiguous, vague, incomplete, overly broad, or rhetorical and cannot be reasonably answered in its current form. For help clarifying this question so that it can be reopened, visit the help center.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

4  
This question feels quite broad, and hard to answer in its current state. You think you can rephrase it and give some more context? –  AndroidHustle Sep 28 '12 at 8:14

1 Answer 1

up vote 0 down vote accepted

Data loss if of course a no-no to cause. So, just plainly deleting part of the user's resources (I assume they represent data) is never a solution.

Is there some way for you to determine what resources are likely to be least important for your user? Like the recources accessed least or the longest time ago? Perhaps you can come up with a scheme where you lock or disable some of the resources that are most likely to be the least important ones. Then, you allow the users to remove the resources they no longer wish to keep. As slots open up in the normally allowed number of resources, users can choose to unlock a locked resource and move it back to the list of accessible resources.

The time a resource stays around in locked state could be limited. Of course, you'd give your user plenty of warnings and time to act, but ultimately locked resources would be deleted. If relevant, you could also offer a one-time download of the locked resources during the period that the resources are kept available in locked state. I think it is important to let users take their data with them, even if they decide to leave your service. That way, you will leave a more positive feeling with the user, and if you advertise this fact in advance, users may feel more secure about joining the first place.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.