Should disabled options ever be hidden?
I'm currently working with a project team that has a requirement to make additional reports/data available to end-users with a single click from a customer task screen. It has been decided that these reports will appear in a model that is shown to the user after clicking a button on the customer task screen.
The issue is not all customer will have these reports based on there account; but, all accounts could have these type of report appear/disappear at any given time. For consistency we intend to always show the reports section which is a table (see mockup below).
So the question is do how do we show the state of each report with the buttons? Do we show the button as disabled when there is no report to view? Hide the button all together when the information is not avaliable? Leave the button enable at all time and just information the user there is "no" reports at that time?