I noticed in SharePoint 2010 publishing pages that the page content is being saved if user clicks the browser back button or closes browser tab without warning him if he needs to save content or not? The only warning that comes in this case if page has validation warnings (e.g. if there are any required fields). I and my colleagues found that behavior strange and debatable.
I'm wondering if that behavior is a standard in any other popular CMS? I'm also wondering about what should be done if user clicks the back button/F5/closes browser tab especially for web applications from user experience and usability point of view.
P.S. If there are any documents/links that describes this behavior; user leaves page either by clicking back button, closing tab or F5 and what actions we should do, please post it.
P.S. If there any reference you have for SharePoint publishing page behavior if users clicks the browser back button or closes browser tab or if it is there anywhere in other CMS, please post it.