Take the 2-minute tour ×
User Experience Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for user experience researchers and experts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Say I was hired by a store to put up Facebook account. Since I do not know who are the people that could be connected to the store, I put up a Facebook profile so I can add friends. This is against Facebook terms and conditions that only individual should put up a profile account. My strat is when I reach 300 friends, (network is built then) I then create a page where I will redirect everyone then delete the profile account. Is this ok?

share|improve this question
1  
This is exactly what Facebook pages are for, I'd recommend creating one ASAP and deleting the personal account once your fans have time to move over. –  Ben Brocka Oct 6 '11 at 13:33
1  
I don't really see a UX question in here. This is really just a question of how you should be using Facebook. As such, it really belongs on a Facebook support forum. –  Charles Boyung Oct 6 '11 at 15:06
add comment

closed as off topic by Charles Boyung, Patrick McElhaney Oct 6 '11 at 16:47

Questions on User Experience Stack Exchange are expected to relate to user experience within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1 Answer

You should either create a Facebook Page or a Facebook Group. Profiles are reserved for individual users and are best adapted for this purpose.

A Facebook Page is good if your company is mostly interested in broadcasting to a large group of fans and having as much control over the conversation as possible. This should be the ideal option for your client.

A Facebook Group is better suited for smaller communities where it's more about free discussion among the members than marketing per se. A major difference is that fans of a page only get notified when a new message is sent by the owner of the page, where as group members get notified of all new messages no matter who sent them.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.