I'm currently building a small online dating service and am wondering what the best task flow is if a user disables their account.
(When an account is disabled, all their data is retained but they can't interact with other users or be seen by other users).
Right now what happens is the user clicks a "disable" button, things change in the database, and that button turns into an "enable" button. There is also a notice at the top of the page that reminds them that their account is disabled.
An alternative that we've considered is logging out the user immediately after they click the "disable" button. If they log back in, their account is re-enabled.